Final Evaluation

Skills audit from Week 1

SkillSatisfactoryGoodExcellentEvidence
Secondary Research  xFmp year 1
Primary Research xFmp year 1
Reflecting xFmp year 1
Technical vocabulary  xFmp year 1
 Problem solvingxThis wasn’t a criteria last year. Area for development 
Presentation xFmp year 1
Live performance xFmp 1st year
Recorded vocals xFmp 1st year
Using a range of temps and styles xFmp 1st year
Rehearsal tequnique x
SkillSatisfactoryGoodExcellentEvidence
Secondary Research  xFmp year 1
Primary Research xFmp year 1
Reflecting xFmp year 1
Technical vocabulary  xFmp year 1
 Problem solvingxThis wasn’t a criteria last year. Area for development 
Presentation xFmp year 1
Live performance xFmp 1st year
Recorded vocals xFmp 1st year
Using a range of temps and styles xfirst project of this year
Rehearsal tequnique x

Looking back on the project, my proposal and plan, I feel as though I stuck to my plan and even though I hit some bumps in the road, overall I felt the project ran smoothly and efficiently. I did however hit some practical problems on the way, such as, finding a chorus for my track, the backing track I made was funky and went well with my lyrics, but it didn’t have a defined chorus and therefore made the track have a continuous beat. I spoke with a few of the boys from Steves class to see if they could come up with a little riff but nothing was screaming yes. I then sent my track to mark to see if he could do some production on it and he added some drums and I really liked what he did with the track.

When recording White cliffs of dover, I had some trouble when recording the opening line. I struggled with the key and timing of the song. I then had a chat with Natalie to discuss the improvement of the song and she suggested getting to know the song a little better.

Bibliography

Steve Duffy. (2020). World War Two: 80 years after sinking of child evacuee ship. [Online]. BBC News. Last Updated: 17 September 2020. Available at: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-53664294 [Accessed 27 September 2023].

DWIGHT JON ZIMMERMAN. (2021). Operation Pied Piper: The Evacuation of English Children During World War II. [Online]. Defense Media Network. Last Updated: OCTOBER 22, 2021. Available at: https://www.defensemedianetwork.com/stories/operation-pied-piper-the-evacuation-of-english-children- [Accessed 27 September 2023].

Dylan Pines. (2022). 10 Stage Presence Tips EVERY Musician Needs. [Online]. Mastering.com. Last Updated: JUNE 27, 2018. Available at: https://mastering.com/stage-presence/ [Accessed 16 October 2023].

Saima Hussain. (2018). Vera Lynn: The White Cliffs of Dover. [Online]. POPULAR MUSIC. Last Updated: November 28, 2019. Available at: https://eng410wwiilit.commons.gc.cuny.edu/2017/11/28/vera-lynn-the-white-cliffs-of-dover/ [Accessed 16 October 2023].

MasterClass. (2018). Songwriting Tips: 10 Techniques for Writing Memorable Songs. [Online]. MasterClass. Last Updated: Dec 10, 2021. Available at: https://www.masterclass.com/articles/songwriting-tips-techniques-for-writing-memorable-songs [Accessed 16 October 2023].


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started